Balancing Law School and Weightlifting? It can be done.

10710488_10205124385299016_5510141172177963677_o“How do you balance law school and training?” This is the question everyone wants to know the answer to. The truth of the matter is that I’m still trying to figure it out. I could talk about time management and some other strategies. But, let’s be real, it is a lot more complicated than that and I am far from mastering any of those skills. Between training twice a day, attending classes, studying and doing other extracurricular activities life can definitely be overwhelming. Therefore, more than time management, achieving balance begins with defining goals and the reasons that drive me to achieve them. I have learned the importance of understanding why I want to pursue each one of my goals, whether it is becoming a successful lawyer or training for competition. Truly understanding this has allowed me to endure the less than enjoyable moments of each pursuit. When you have a purpose it is easier to stay focused along the way.

Training has prepared me not only physically, but mentally as well. Weightlifting has taught me that anything is possible if you work hard. So, for practical reasons I can share some advice based on my experience.Christina Blog NWLSO

(1)   Prioritize each one of your goals. It does not mean that one is more important than the other, but sometimes you will need to shift focus to one of them and give in completely.

(2)   Commit. It all comes down to this. Make a promise to yourself. You need to have the will to work hard enough and give 100% to whatever you are doing.

(3)   Get a support group. My family and coaches are key to achieving my goals. I think it’s important to surround yourself with people who are going to help you out and lift you higher when you need it.

(4)   Enjoy the journey and celebrate each accomplishment. There is no small achievement, whether it is a five pound Snatch PR or ending my semester with good grades, I celebrate it all.

Attaining balance is about finding what works for you and committing to it. It requires focusing and reminding yourself of what is important. There will be, without a doubt, frustration and exhaustion along the way. Even I struggle in taking my own advice. There is no secret for success rather than embracing the process of becoming the best woman you can be. The results are empowering.

 

One thought on “Balancing Law School and Weightlifting? It can be done.

Leave a Reply

